Skip to content

The Latest from the ScanningEriePA Monitoring Shack

August 26, 2013

Here are a few notes from the ham and scanner shack at ScanningEriePA.

I have just today purchased a new outdoor scanner antenna. It is an Antennacraft ST-4 omnidirectional base antenna, with wideband coverage from 25 to 1300 MHZ. This antenna will be mounted on my tower somewhere between 30 and 50 feet in altitude above the ground, and will be used to feed at least one of my scanners. I am hoping this will bring me better listening to local communications, particularly Chautauqua county sheriff and fire transmissions. I will have updates on this as we get the antenna and put it up in the coming days and weeks.

Also, last night (08-25-13) was my first time acting as the Net Control Station for the Sunday Night ARES/RACES/SKYWARN training net for Erie county, PA. The net lasted about 35 minutes with 25 check ins. It was a good net, and I feel that as my first time I did fairly well, especially taking into account how busy and active the net is. If you listened to the net last night I would love to hear what you thought! I look forward to continuing to learn and grow as an NCS in the future and doing all I can to aid in emergency communications in the area.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment