Skip to content

12/15 Update from the ScanningEriePA Shack

December 15, 2013

I would like to take this time to wish everyone a happy holiday season, be it Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza or none of the above! Hopefully you’re spending plenty of time with friends and family, and maybe (if you were good!) you’ll find that new scanner or ham radio under the tree come Christmas morning!

I just wanted to let you all know that this site is still active and current, and that I continue to monitor it as often as I can. My schedule is often very busy throughout the week, so I don’t always get to post any incident updates or news. I also don’t get as much time to monitor as I would like. By the way, if anyone would like access to the web administrative duties for posting any breaking local scanner news or announcements, feel free to contact me. Of course, I will not give the information out to just anyone, but if you are genuinely interested I would be happy to have you aboard.

But I am still here and still scanning. I have recently become more interested in aviation monitoring… a teacher of mine is an amateur pilot and knows a lot about that type of radio communications, and he has taught me a lot and given me a new appreciation for that aspect of the hobby. I enjoy finding some other things to listen to besides the plain old police, fire, and EMS all the time. So now I often listen to Erie Intl. Airport activity, Cleveland ARTCC control, and activity at other airports around the country thanks to live streaming audio at
http://www.liveatc.net
(that is a fantastic site, if you’re interested in ATC monitoring you have to check it out!)

And of course when weather strikes, I’m still listening to the public safety agencies to obtain the latest info. I record Erie police during the night 3-4 nights out of the week, but I seem to have a knack for missing all the good calls. If I catch any, I’ll certainly be sharing them with you.

I am also still active in amateur radio. I am the acting Net Manager for the Erie Area Mailbag Net, and we are back to linking 146.61 (Erie) and 146.82 (Waterford) into the usual 146.70 (Union City) for the nets to give us countywide coverage. I also remain active in ARES and skywarn… in fact tonight is my turn to be Net Control for the weekly training net!

Finally, in some saddening scanner news nationally, recordings of the final radio transmissions from the team of firefighters in Arizona that were fatally overtaken by wildfire in June of this year have been released. The transmissions were captured on an uninvolved firefighter’s helmet camera. It is chilling to hear and sense both the seriousness of the incident and the routine calm with which it was handled.

You can read a story and report on this release and watch a related news segment here:
http://www.azcentral.com/news/arizona/free/20131213granite-mountain-hotshots-radio-calls-video.html

That’s all from the SanningEriePA shack for now. Happy scanning, and I’ll post again soon!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

