Skip to content

Sorry to Announce

July 22, 2012

I am sorry to have to announce that my grandmother, Marie Hlifka, passed away on Thursday, July 19, 2012 at about 7:00 PM. She was 95 years old. She died at Pleasant Ridge Manor West in Fairview, where she had been for some time. She has been ill and in decline for quite some time, so while we will miss her strongly, it is also good to know that she is in a better place, out of worry and pain.

For those of you who don’t know, my grandmother was my best friend growing up. She babysat me each day from when I was just a toddler, and continued to do so each summer and holiday break after I was in school. She lit up my days with fun and great times, and I did the same for her. Towards the later years, I ended up babysitting her more than she babysat me, but I didn’t mind at all.

My grandmother was always very independent, so it was a hard decision when we had to admit her to the nursing home after a heart attack. It got hard for her to swallow, and before long she was not taking in any food or liquid. The fantastic Hospice group got involved and stopped the water drips, because, as they explained, it was doing her more harm than good. She passed away not even a week after coming back to the nursing home from a hospital visit where she had gone for dehydration.

Grandma had a positive impact on everyone she met. I’m sure her viewings and service will be jam-packed with friends and family, as everyone knew “Grandma,” as everyone called her, as a sweet, generous, independent, and strong woman. It is quite remarkable that she was able to live in such good condition as long as she did, as she was somewhere around 93 before she really got bad. She was sure a fantastic lady!

If you have noticed that updates to my sites have been sparse, this is the reason. By Tuesday or Wednesday I should be able to get back to updating more frequently.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

